Shinmei-zukuri Shrine from Woody Joe

This is not a wasen project, but it is Japanese related, and I think the aesthetic is important to anyone who is interested in modeling wasen, so I’m re-blogging this from my ship modeling blog. And, yes, it’s not a ship modeling project either! But, I needed a simple project to distract me from my other work, and I had to write about it somewhere.

The Ship Modeler

I’ve recently found myself spinning my wheels on the ship modeling front. This happens from time to time with my projects when I get a bit overwhelmed or stuck. My scratch model of a Japanese rice field boat, the Gifu Tabune, was one kind of distraction to work on. That took only a couple days, but there was a lot of thinking that went into that build, since it was from scratch, and I’m still learning a lot about Japanese traditional boats. The ideal would be a simple kit, where I can just build it and not spend a lot of time on it or have to put a lot of brain power into it, as I’m in short supply these days.

As it turns out, I’d purchased a collection of simple Woody Joe kits from Zootoyz. If you follow my blog at all, you’re already aware that I am…

View original post 804 more words

Leave a Reply

